Sabtu, 16 Agustus 2008


Real Madrid Club de Fútbol (English: Madrid Royal Football Club, also known as Real Madrid, Los Blancos, Los Merengues) is a Spanish professional football club based in Madrid. Founded in 1902, the club plays in La Liga and has been voted the most successful football club of the 20th century, having won a record thirty-one La Liga titles, seventeen Copa del Rey and a record nine European Cup titles.[7][8] On 21 May 1904, Real Madrid was a founding member of The Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA)[9] and also of the now defunct G-14 group of Europe's leading football clubs and its replacement, the European Club Association.[10]

The club plays its home professional games in the Santiago Bernabéu Stadium in Madrid. Real Madrid is unusual in that, unlike most football clubs, it has been owned and operated only by its members (socios) since 1902. On 23 December 2000, FIFA awarded the Spanish team the title of the "Best Club of the 20th Century".[11][12]

Real Madrid has a large fanbase, who hold a string of long-standing rivalries with several other clubs; the most notable of these is with FC Barcelona, with whom they regularly contest the El Clásico. The club is the 2nd most valuable club in football (worth over €950m as of 2008) and the richest (€351m)

Tidak ada komentar: